Benton County

04 Benton


Benton County was formed February 18, 1840. It is named for Thomas H. Benton (D), U.S. Senator from Missouri. The original county seat selected in 1843 was Oxford, but after a long struggle between contending factions it was moved to Fowler in 1874.


The current Benton County courthouse, located in Fowler, was designed by Gordon P. Randall of Chicago and built in 1874 by Levi L. Leach at a cost of $62,257. The new courthouse was an impressive building from an architectural standpoint, but also provided much-needed improvements in security, including large fire-proof vaults. Randall had designed the Marshall County courthouse a few years earlier.


In 2008 the Benton County Wind Farm began operating with 87 1.5 MW wind turbines. Duke Energy purchases electricity from the wind farm and sells it to customers through its GoGreen program.

In 2009 the Fowler Ridge Wind Farm opened nearby, giving Benton County one of the largest concentrations of wind turbines in the United States east of the Mississippi River.,_Indiana

Indiana is a U.S. state located in the Midwestern and Great Lakes regions of North America. Indiana is the 38th largest by area and the 16th most populous of the 50 United States. Its capital and largest city is Indianapolis. Indiana was admitted to the United States as the 19th U.S. state on December 11, 1816. The United States Census Bureau estimates that the population of Indiana was 6,619,680 on July 1, 2015, a 2.10% increase since the 2010 United States Census.

There are 6 Towns / Cities, each with their own ZIP codes, still in existence, in Benton County, Indiana.

  • 47917 Ambia
  • 47921 Boswell
  • 47942 Earl Park
  • 47944 Fowler
  • 47970 Otterbein
  • 47971 Oxford

The County seat is in Fowler.


Unincorporated towns

  • Chase
  • Dunnington
  • Freeland Park
  • Lochiel
  • Raub
  • Swanington
  • Talbot
  • Templeton
  • Wadena

Extinct towns

  • Dunn

There are 11 townships in Benton County, that provide local services. Each of the townships has a trustee who administers rural fire protection and ambulance service, provides poor relief and manages cemetery care, among other duties. The trustee is assisted in these duties by a three-member township board. The trustees and board members are elected to four-year terms.


  • Bolivar
  • Center
  • Gilboa
  • Grant
  • Hickory Grove
  • Oak grove
  • Parish Grove
  • Pine
  • Richland
  • Union
  • York